Question

I have copied (cloned) a taskbot. If i edit the new (copied) one, then it still behaves like to original taskbot, even if i delete a step (action) and run it, it is still deploying that (deleted) action, like it is running the original bot.

  • 20 January 2022
  • 5 replies
  • 290 views

AA2019


5 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +10

Create a read-only copy of the bot from the public workspace to the private workspace so that you can have a local copy without checking out the bot.

 

https://docs.automationanywhere.com/bundle/enterprise-v2019/page/enterprise-cloud/topics/aae-client/bot-creator/working-with-automation-tasks/clone-a-bot.html/p>

 

https://www.automationanywhere.com/company/blog/product-insights/enterprise-a2019-update-clone-bots-bot-import-export-and-more/p>

Thank you Tamil for your answer! if i make a local copy, can i edit that local copy itself, so it works as a robot on his own ? and actually run these changes (edits)

Userlevel 5
Badge +12

Hi @peter koning​ ,

 

For making edits you need to checkout the bot from Public workspace and make the necessary changes to it.

Userlevel 5
Badge +10

Clone is read mode (copy) so you can't do the changes. You have to check out the bot/Task and edit the code.

Badge

Hi,

If I check out a bot, can I edit it and thus create a new bot based off the check out bot? (Check the new bot in and rename it to something new whilst keeping the original bot?)

Reply