Meet MVP Paul Hawkins, Low Code Engineering Lead at Brewin Dolphin

• 16 October 2023
  • 1 reply
Meet MVP Paul Hawkins, Low Code Engineering Lead at Brewin Dolphin
Userlevel 5
Badge +5

You’ve seen them quite often around the Pathfinder-verse, heard them speak at events or virtual meetings, maybe even dialogued with them in a forum thread—they’re our Most Valuable Pathfinders! They are the spark keeping the Pathfinder Community ablaze, so it was about time we took a beat to really get to know each one of our MVPs better and share their unique stories with you!

So without further ado, let’s get to know...

Paul Hawkins

The Basics

• Years of Automation Experience: 6 or 7 years - he’s lost count!
  • Current Company: RBC Brewin Dolphin
  • Official Title: Low Code Engineering Team Lead
  • But this is how Paul would actually describe what he does: I normally make it easier on people and just tell them I work in IT and type away on my imaginary keyboard and leave it at that! Jokes aside - I’d say I focus primarily on automation work that’s a mix of process improvement and technology. I work with platforms and technology to build out applications to automate pieces of work processes for people.
  • Biggest Professional Achievement to date: In my previous role, we automated a new account reconciliation process, that reviewed transactions with millions in value. The process arose due to some underlying system changes and would have required a dedicated team to resolve queries, which there was no capacity for. The end to end process saved an estimated 10FTEs over the course of the year

Five Fun Facts

• His birthday is September 18th
  • His favorite TV programs are The Wire, The Sopranos and a UK comedy called Red Dwarf
  • As a superpower, he’d love the ability to fly or breathe underwater
  • One of the most adventurous things he’s done is go to Iraq for holiday - he recommends it!
  • The next place he wants to travel to is Japan

Expertise / Specializations