Development via text editor

• 29 September 2023
  • 2 replies

Badge +3

Hi, I am a backend developer (Java/Moqui) and i was tasked to develop the bots at my company.

As a developer i find it nonsensical to use the online tool to do any development for the bots.

You lose too much. Git diff is one of the things i miss.

Also, a lot of inconveniences pop up, Any undo (ctrl+z) is done silently. I can’t see where it is happening in the code or if it even happened. Same goes for accidental drag-and-drops.

Most of all, I hate that all variables are global, lack of methods (yes, i know that bots are supposed to be the methods). The cherry on top is that i can’t write complex expressions in a single line. no lambdas…. Drag and drop assignments. The fact that my work is lost if i let the session timeout for any reason.

In all it is a bad experience for me.

My question is: Is there a way to write bots directly in an IDE?

A VSCode plugin for example….

And why is it not exposed in the first place. The result of the bot clearly has to be compiled/interpreted into intermediary language to be executed on the machine by the client.

2 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +12

Why is it not exposed? Because it is a low-code platform and masks much of the underlying code. This is not unique to any low-code/no-code platform. You’re either going to have to operate within the constraints of the system or find another development platform.  

Badge +3

It is not possible for me to move to another platform because of legacy bots and an investment in a costly license.